Home » Poetry » Poetry: “Eyes open”

Poetry: “Eyes open”

I guess this ties into yesterday’s poem a bit, though a bit more personal.

***~***~***~***

Eyes open

Growing up
Wanting to fit in
Not being
A square peg
In a round hole
Conforming
Be like the others
The media
Never showing
There was another way
Another story
That could be
My life
I adopted
Someone else’s narrative
Never once
Looking for my own
Until I grew
Older
Much older
And finally
Horizons slowly expanded
An alternative
Suddenly presented
Eyes we’re open
Far too late
Or just in time
To make a difference

I struggle now
To catch up
Make up for
Time that was lost
I look then
To younger generations
Who were shown
The alternative stories
More secure
In themselves
And I feel envy
But also gladness
That their eyes are open
To their paths
So clear up ahead

***

Copyright © 2017 · All Rights Reserved · Fantasy Transcendent

Leave a Reply

