Home » Poetry » Poetry: “On optimism”

Poetry: “On optimism”

Tying into yesterday’s poem a bit.

***~***~***~***

On optimism

Optimism
Is not a friend of mine
But an acquaintance
Fleetingly familiar
Brushing shoulders
Now and then
Before I return
To pessimism
Or realism’s waiting arms
Most trusted companions
In my life
Those I lean on
Whose whispers
I take as gospel
Keeps me wary
Day by day
But I wonder
When the rain falls
If I should try and change
See that acquaintance
Optimism
Stand there waiting
An umbrella held aloft
And then a friendship
Can seem attractive
Perhaps I’ll make the effort soon

***

Copyright © 2017 · All Rights Reserved · Fantasy Transcendent

Leave a Reply

