Home » Poetry » Poetry: “Stress”

Poetry: “Stress”

Perhaps a more sitting thing for a workday, but inspiration hits at strange times.

***~***~***~***
Stress

It pulls me like a rubber band
So tight against my skin
Forcing me to speed up
Go fast against my will

My body’s filled with hormones
Adrenaline, it flows
It surges through my system
Until I can’t see straight

I work so hard to the beat
Of my heart, just like a drum
Pound, pound, pounding in my chest
It eggs me on and on

My watch is now my enemy
It taunts me with its pace
Somehow I must keep up with it
Though my body’s feeling faint

***

Leave a Reply

