Home » Poetry » Poetry: “Ode to Flowers”

Poetry: “Ode to Flowers”

First summer month, or at least that is the way things are here…Though the weather can disappoint.

Anyway, some suitable poetry for the first day of June!

***~***~***~***

Ode to flowers

 

Give me lilacs in late spring

Give me fragrant roses too

Lilies of the valley white

Bring them in to every room

 

Give me precious peonies

Give me blue forget me nots

Fields of purple lavender

Let them bloom from east to west

 

Give me buttery rapeseed

Give me poppies in the wheat

Honeysuckle winding round

Fills the evening with their scent

 

Give me daisies, buttercups

Give me clover and bellflow’r

Fill most every meadow

With the beauty nature brings

***

Leave a Reply

