Home » Poetry » Poetry: “On spring birds”

Poetry: “On spring birds”

Where I have an opinion on something which is, possibly, kind of silly.

***~***~***~***

On spring birds

 

To some it’s starling or the crane

That tell us all that spring’s arrived

Carried here from far off lands

To usher in these warmer days

 

Well, though they’re nice, I must admit

I have some other bird in mind

That always makes me smile so wide

To prove for sure that spring is here

 

A wagging tail and slender shape

With feathers black and white and grey

The white wagtail he is quite dear

Who always comes in mid-April.

 

This darling bird he is a sight

With nervous wagging tail and all

On summer days I see him too

Off catching insects for his brood

 

So every spring I gaze about

In field and meadow for this bird

The white wagtail with all his kin

A welcome sight when I feel down

 ***

Leave a Reply

