Home » Poetry » Poetry: “Beast of burden”

Poetry: “Beast of burden”

Wrote this after a particularly hard day at work.

***~***~***~***

Beast of burden

 

Burn my candle at both ends

Chase me, poke me

Stress me out

Give me troubles

Give me toil

Stack them up and load me up

Beast of burden

That is me

Struggling through most every day

Watch me quiver

At the mouth

As the strain keeps building up

I might manage

I might live

But one day, I’ve had enough

All you’ve given

All you’ve placed

There on top of my own back

All at once

Just like a bomb

That pent up stress comes pouring out

***

Leave a Reply

