Home » Poetry » Poetry: “Of old age”

Poetry: “Of old age”

Where I get slightly essayistic in my poetry again, touching upon one of those common topics.

***~***~***~***

Of old age

 

What I wish of the future

Is to grow old and die

With dignity

Of sound mind

And body

Or as well as can be expected

Of someone in their 80s

Not some drawn out ordeal

On a bed in some ward

With bedsores

And mind in shambles

Cut adrift on a sea of memories

I want to die peacefully

With loved ones near

Holding my hand

If I feel frightened

Not alone in a room

Crying

Panicked

Tormented

As my body breaks down

Let me leave this world decently

As a human being

One last act of humanity

Before I join my ancestors

In the ground below

***

Leave a Reply

