Home » Poetry » Poetry: “Triggered memories”

Poetry: “Triggered memories”

A little poem about memories and how something can transport you back in time.

***~***~***~***

Triggered memories

 

I dig into a clementine

Its oils gushing forth

Surrounding me with such a smell

That always brings me back

 

It is the smell of Christmas

Of being very small

And waiting by the Christmas tree

For the time to open gifts

 

With each and every sliver

Of that, tasty, juicy fruit

I am transported so far back

To the sound of jingle bells

 

I picture all the candles

Burning bright in candlesticks

I hear my brothers cracking nuts

And grandma by the TV set

 

The scent of that sweet citrus fruit

Brings back scents of Christmas food

Of ham and meatballs, salmon too

And the browning cabbage stew

 

As I finish off my clementine

All the memories they fade

Not for all time, no, not at all.

Until they’re triggered once again.

 ***

Leave a Reply

