Home » Poetry » Poetry: “The Ash”

Poetry: “The Ash”

More poetry about nature, it just keeps inspiring me.

***~***~***~***

The Ash

 

There is an ash tree right outside

It grows right by my door

It’s shielded me in summer time

And now when fall rains fall

 

I watched it in the spring time

When its branches were still bare

Last one of the trees I know

To unfurl baby leaves

 

It’s stood there for a long time

Long before I first moved here

Yet it still grows happily

With its branches reaching far

 

I touch its trunk and contemplate

How much life has come and gone

Since this ash tree was just a babe

Who had just been planted here

 

Like my ancient ancestors

Who loved this sacred tree

I doth love my own Yggdrasil

In its shade I will remain

 ***

Leave a Reply

